Over a million developers have joined DZone.
Platinum Partner

Checking Your Changes with SVN

· DevOps Zone

The DevOps Zone is brought to you in partnership with Librato.  Check out Librato's whitepaper on Selecting a Cloud Monitoring Solution.

Before committing work to the central repository, you may want to review the changes you’ve made. This can be achieved by running Apache Subversion’s ‘svn status’ command at the top of your working copy, which will print out a list of all your local changes:

svn status (working-copy-path)

svn status

The characters in the first column represent the state of the file/directory listed. The different characters are:

  • ? – item is not under version control.
  • ! – item is missing.
  • A – item is scheduled to be added to the repository.
  • C – item is in a state of conflict.
  • D – item is scheduled to be deleted in the repository.
  • M – item contents have been modified.

Alternatively, if you need information about all the files in your working copy, regardless of whether they have been modified, you can add Subversion’s –verbose (–v) switch to ‘svn status:’

svn status –v (working-copy-path)

svn status 2


Published at DZone with permission of Jessica Thornsby , DZone MVB .

Opinions expressed by DZone contributors are their own.

{{ parent.title || parent.header.title}}

{{ parent.tldr }}

{{ parent.urlSource.name }}