Over a million developers have joined DZone.
{{announcement.body}}
{{announcement.title}}

NightHacking with Gosling on the Big Island

DZone's Guide to

NightHacking with Gosling on the Big Island

· Java Zone
Free Resource

Try Okta to add social login, MFA, and OpenID Connect support to your Java app in minutes. Create a free developer account today and never build auth again.

I was chatting with James Gosling before his keynote appearance at JavaOne and asked him if he wanted to a do an update on our live video stream from last year. He recommended that rather than doing it at his offices in the South Bay, we take it to their launch facility in Kona, Hawaii. Naturally, I jumped at the opportunity and just got final confirmation on his itinerary earlier this week to make it all happen.

Wave Glider

For those of you who missed Gosling’s keynote, he showed some pretty amazing live video footage taken by one of their Wave Glider marine robots off the coast of Hawaii.  Using a web interface he was able to send remote navigation commands and see the updates real-time from the live stream on device.  All of this is running on low-power ARM chips running Java SE Embedded, and controlled by some pretty cool World Wind and JavaFX UIs on the desktop.

So, here is the part where you can get involved.  I am going to be hanging out with Gosling and crew early next week in preparation for a live stream we will do on Wednesday, October 23rd at:

  • 8AM Hawaii Time
  • 11AM PST
  • 2PM EST
  • 20:00 CET
  • etc.

During this broadcast we will show some of the footage of his aquatic robots, talk through the technologies he is hacking on daily, and do Q&A with folks on the live chat.  If you want to join us for this event, you can sign up on the new NightHacking website:

http://nighthacking.com/events/nighthacking-with-gosling-on-the-big-island/

I hope to see you on the live stream next Wednesday with James!

Build and launch faster with Okta’s user management API. Register today for the free forever developer edition!

Topics:

Published at DZone with permission of Stephen Chin, DZone MVB. See the original article here.

Opinions expressed by DZone contributors are their own.

{{ parent.title || parent.header.title}}

{{ parent.tldr }}

{{ parent.urlSource.name }}