Over a million developers have joined DZone.

3 Levels of Network Monitoring for DevOps

DZone's Guide to

3 Levels of Network Monitoring for DevOps

An introduction to network monitoring and how it helps companies with their DevOps initiatives.

· DevOps Zone
Free Resource

The Nexus Suite is uniquely architected for a DevOps native world and creates value early in the development pipeline, provides precise contextual controls at every phase, and accelerates DevOps innovation with automation you can trust. Read how in this ebook.

Network communications are a top priority for DevOps teams working in support of modern globally-distributed systems and microservices. But basic network interface statistics like received and sent traffic aren’t as useful as they once were because multiple microservices may share the same network interface. For meaningful analysis, you need to dig deeper and correlate network-traffic metrics with individual processes. This is however just the beginning … In this article, I’ll show you how deep the network monitoring rabbit hole goes. The three levels of meaningful analysis that DevOps engineers have been waiting for are finally available.

Level 1: Host-based Monitoring

Level 1: Host-based monitoring

Level 2: Process-based Monitoring

Level 2: Process-based monitoring

Level 3: Communications-based Monitoring

Level 3: Communications-based monitoring

Interested? Read all details about the three levels of network monitoring.

The DevOps Zone is brought to you in partnership with Sonatype Nexus.  See how the Nexus platform infuses precise open source component intelligence into the DevOps pipeline early, everywhere, and at scale. Read how in this ebook

network ,monitoring ,network monitoring ,dev ops ,monitoring tool

Published at DZone with permission of Dirk Wallerstorfer. See the original article here.

Opinions expressed by DZone contributors are their own.


Dev Resources & Solutions Straight to Your Inbox

Thanks for subscribing!

Awesome! Check your inbox to verify your email so you can start receiving the latest in tech news and resources.


{{ parent.title || parent.header.title}}

{{ parent.tldr }}

{{ parent.urlSource.name }}