Over a million developers have joined DZone.
{{announcement.body}}
{{announcement.title}}

Changing a GitLab Runner From ''Locked to a Project'' to Shared

DZone's Guide to

Changing a GitLab Runner From ''Locked to a Project'' to Shared

This quick tutorial will show you how to change a GitLab runner from ''locked'' so you can share it with another project.

· DevOps Zone ·
Free Resource

Download the blueprint that can take a company of any maturity level all the way up to enterprise-scale continuous delivery using a combination of Automic Release Automation, Automic’s 20+ years of business automation experience, and the proven tools and practices the company is already leveraging.

I have a GitLab Runner assigned to a project that I'd like to share with another similar project. Currently, it looks like this:

Pressing the small edit icon, I can see these options:

I want to reuse this same runner, so I unchecked the 'Lock to current projects' checkbox.

Now if I go to the CI/CD settings for my other project I can see it is available, so I click "enable for this project":

Now, my Pending Job that was triggered after my first push to my repo has kicked in and is being deployed to my test Docker server. Cool.

Download the ‘Practical Blueprint to Continuous Delivery’ to learn how Automic Release Automation can help you begin or continue your company’s digital transformation.

Topics:
devops ,gitlab ,tutorial ,version control

Published at DZone with permission of

Opinions expressed by DZone contributors are their own.

{{ parent.title || parent.header.title}}

{{ parent.tldr }}

{{ parent.urlSource.name }}