Over a million developers have joined DZone.
{{announcement.body}}
{{announcement.title}}

Performing a Reverse Merge in SmartSVN

DZone's Guide to

Performing a Reverse Merge in SmartSVN

· DevOps Zone ·
Free Resource

DevOps involves integrating development, testing, deployment and release cycles into a collaborative process. Learn more about the 4 steps to an effective DevSecOps infrastructure.

Apache Subversion remembers every change committed to the repository, making it possible to revert to previous revisions of your project. Users of SmartSVN, the cross-platform client for SVN, can easily perform a revert using the built-in ‘Transactions’ window.

Simply right-click on the revision you wish to revert to in SmartSVN’s ‘Transactions’ window (by default, this window is located in the bottom right-hand corner of your SmartSVN screen) and select ‘Rollback.’

smartsvn transactions

Alternatively, reverse merges can be performed through the ‘Merge’ dialogue:

1) Select ‘Merge’ from SmartSVN’s ‘Modify’ menu.

2) In the Merge dialogue, enter the revision number you’re reverting to.

merge changes from a diff branch

If you’re not sure of the revision you should be targeting, click the ‘Select…’ button next to the ‘Revision Range’ textbox. In the subsequent dialogue, you can review information about the different revisions, including the commit message, author and the timestamp of the commit.

select a revision

3) Ensure ‘Reverse merge’ is selected and click ‘Merge.’

4) Remember to commit the reverse merge to the repository to share this change with the rest of your team!

Read the 4-part DevOps testing eBook to learn how to detect problems earlier in your DevOps testing processes.

Topics:

Published at DZone with permission of

Opinions expressed by DZone contributors are their own.

{{ parent.title || parent.header.title}}

{{ parent.tldr }}

{{ parent.urlSource.name }}